top of page
  • Writer's pictureUrSulA

YOU ARE WHO YOU'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR


I recently watched a video that quite affected me and gave me a lot of things to think about. That is why I decided to translate the speech that is actually the poem of the speaker Adam Roe. I hope this text will encourage you to think a little bit about yourself and your life. Enjoy.


You are who you've been looking for


You are who you've been looking for, so stop looking for more unless you're looking in a mirror. It's about time for you to see clearly that you are who you have been looking for. And that empty feeling you got, that hole in your chest, you only got that feeling because you think you're not blessed with everything you need. You see, we live in a consumerist society which means they need you to buy stuff and the easiest way to sell it is to tell you that you're not enough.


Buy this car – you'll get girls.

Buy this bra - you'll get guys.


And we're seeing it so much that we start believing these lies. But the truth is, the makeup they're selling, to you make you feel prettier is the same makeup you buy to stop feeling shittier about this lie they keep telling you – that you're not enough.


And what about movies we watch, all the shows on TV?

The more I watch, the more I see I need you to complete me. And yes, love is the answer, love is the key, but if you can't love yourself how could you ever love me? And loving yourself – what does that even mean?


Like massages and selfies and that sort of thing...because the more I think about it, the more it feels weird. I've always been taught that self love was something to be feared. I've been taught that arrogance is bad and vanity is not good. And even my bracelets are telling me to act how Jesus would.


So what should I do?

How should I act?

I'm supposed to love myself, but how do I even do that?


Well I got a trick that I picked up from a friend who noticed that I was quick to defend her, when she would say something negative about herself.


She would say: ''I'm so dumb.''

and I would say: ''You're so brilliant.''

She would say: ''I'm so weak.''

and I'd say: ''You're so resilient.''

And when she said: ''I feel ugly''

I sad ''You look beautiful.''

Then he asked me why I was so dutifully filling up her cup constantly and yet treating my own cup so irresponsibly. Because when I looked in the mirror my voice was so clear:

''You're ugly.''

''Your're too thin.''

That was when he gave me a piece of advice that changed my life. He gave me a hug and said:


''Treat yourself like someone you loved.''

''Treat yourself like someone you loved.''


Now I've been standing, but I needed to be sitting because I can't believe that I've been letting myself keep forgetting that I was who I'd been looking for. And deep in my core I knew it was time to stop looking for more until I could look through all my fear and look into a mirror and see clearly that the man looking back at me, was the only one who can make me happy and set me free. I'm already enough and I'm not any more special or unique than you, that's why I'm here to speak to you.


You are enough.

And when you start to see that, you will start to be that. Your world will get brighter, your load will get lighter and you can see that with life you can be a lover not a fighter. And that life – you deserve it. Because you are worth it. And there is no point in letting yourself keep forgetting, because no matter what you say or do:

You are perfect.

And so today I hope I leave you with a direction correction, away from the flaws you seen in your reflection. They aren't flaws to me, they are simply protection against all the doubts you have of your perfection.

So start today. Take a good long look in the mirror and say:


I am who I've been looking for.


Adam Roa


I hope this text will change the image about yourself and will encourage you to fill your own cup with lots of love.

The original video you can see here:

Life Coach Ursula


7 views0 comments
bottom of page